My Second Home Allowance?

James Purnell

James Purnell

Good news – the company that recently told me I would be made redundant have offered me a job at a different location. It’s 200 miles away and I’ll take a hit on money but this seems a good opportunity to find out just what help is available from the Government.

So I’ve sent this to James Purnell, Secretary of State for Work and Pensions and will publish the response:

“I have recently been told that the local branch of the company I work for is to close. I have been offered a position in another branch but that is around 200 miles from where I now live.

I’ve seen a lot in the media recently about a Second Home Allowance and wonder if you could advise me what I will be able to claim.

In the unlikely event that this Allowance is not available, equally, to everyone and I don’t qualify for it, please could you advise me of what relocation assistance the Government offers under these circumstances to help me keep my job.”

I will of course publish the reply here.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

